Category Archive: Playwright Opportunities

Calling all playwrights: The George Devine Award

Since Paines Plough is the national theatre of new plays, we thought it only appropriate to publicise one of the biggest awards going for playwrights going: The George Devine Award.

Tom Wells won it last year, who we’re currently working with on Jumpers for Goalposts. Then Penny Skinner and Nick Payne before him, who wrote two of our Roundabout Shows – The Sound of Heavy Rain and One Day When We Were Young.

The award is worth £15000 and is open to any promising playwright for an original stage play, which need not have been produced.

To enter, applicants must send two copies of the play, plus an outline of their work to:

Harriet Devine,
9 Lower Mall,
W6 9DJ.

The closing date is 1st March 2013. So get writing!

Calling playwrights: The Traverse 50

Here’s a great opportunity from our friends at The Traverse, with whom we recently co-produced David Harrower’s GOOD WITH PEOPLE as part of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

As part of The Trav’s 50th anniversary celebrations they are searching for the best voices from Scotland and beyond. They want to find 50 writers who embody the spirit of invention, adventure and risk taking that has come to define the Traverse over the last 50 years.

The Traverse Fifty is a year-long writer’s attachment to the Traverse, featuring   tailor-made events for the writers, including panel discussions, workshops and one-on-one dramaturgy with the artistic team. The programme will culminate in a New Writing Festival featuring the work of the Traverse Fifty. At the end of the process The Traverse will offer three seed commissions.

So The Traverse are looking for 50 brilliant writers of any age, from anywhere, who have had no more than two professional productions staged.

Sounds like a cracking gig to us. Fore more details visit Traverse Fifty.

Go, go, go!

Calling all Playwrights

This year’s George Devine Award is now accepting entries.

Past winners have included Penelope Skinner, Nick Payne, Che Walker, Gary Owen, Leo Butler, Enda Walsh and Helen Blakeman.

Good luck!